Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve been meaning to try these for a while, & finally got around to it.  I’ve seen several versions of the dish, but decided on this one from Food.com .  I did incorporate some tips I got from other sites though.

Finished bacon & egg cups, plated

Finished bacon & egg cups, plated

The main reason I went with this one is because it cracks a whole egg into each cup, rather than mixing them up & pouring the concoction into each cup. Not only does that mean less work & fewer dirty dishes, I was interested in the idea of a whole baked egg.

Click to see what  I did!

I greased my muffin pan, then lined each one with a strip of turkey bacon around the sides.

Uncooked bacon lining greased muffin cups

Uncooked bacon lining greased muffin cups

Any bacon will do, but turkey is what I had on hand.   Other recipes & plenty of commenters suggested pre-cooking the bacon, so I tossed the pan into the 350f oven for about 5mins.  (Okay, more like 7mins probably, because I was doing something when the timer went off.)

Cooked bacon lining muffin cups

Cooked bacon lining muffin cups

When I took it out, I straightened up the bacon that had slipped in the cups, cracked an egg into each one, sprinkled a little salt & pepper on each egg, topped each cup with some shredded sharp cheddar cheese, & then popped it back into the 350f oven for 15mins. (Fun side-note, the bf wanted to know if the cheese had to be shredded when we went to the grocery store.  He was told it didn’t if he wanted to shred it before I used it.  We bought the shredded cheese.)

Filled bacon & egg cups, half with cheese

Filled bacon & egg cups, half with cheese

When it was done, I pulled it out & let cool on the stove for a whole.  They turned out really delicious.  I’m glad I used the whole egg.  It’s definitely a plus if you are a fan of boiled eggs, as I am.  In fact, I’ve decided this a great way to cook eggs, even without the bacon & cheese.

Finished bacon & egg cups

Finished bacon & egg cups

I then fed it to the bf’s 8yo son who is staying with us for the summer & often seems to think I’m going to let him starve to death in the mornings.  Are all 8yo constantly hungry?  Whenever I hear the words “I’m full”, I make a note in my diary.  Or I would if I had a diary.

Finished bacon & egg cups, plated

Finished bacon & egg cups, plated

Here are some variations of this recipe I found online:

Bacon Egg Cups from Fat Girl Trapped In A Skinny Body made using an egg mix instead of whole eggs

Two-Cheese Egg Fritattas-to-go at BettyCrocker.com add tomatoes & ham

Bacon Potato & Cheese Omelette Cups at A Lot On Your Plate adds potatoes

Green Chile & Cheese Egg Muffins from Kalyn’s Kitchen skips the bacon, but adds green chiles

Baked Tomato & Egg Cups at A Beautiful Bite is a healthier alternative skipping the bacon & cheese, & cooking the eggs in tomatoes

All of these are on my Breakfast board on Pinterest.

