Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Black crochet baby beanie with a white crochet skull applique

A friend’s son & his wife are expecting their first child together.  They are a young couple whose tastes don’t lend themselves to typical baby attire, so I decided to make a hat they would be proud for their baby to wear.

I used a couple of patterns for this hat.

For the hat itself, I used Basic Beanie Free Crochet Pattern at Family Bugs Blogging.  I made the 0-3mos size in black acrylic.  If I could do it again, I would use some black cotton I have, but they whole “it’s going to be warmer when the baby actually wears this” thing didn’t occur to me until the beautiful, sunny day of the baby shower. >_<

I used white acrylic for the skull applique, & the black acrylic for the details.  The pattern for the applique came from Jenn Maple Handmade’s Skull Applique.  I was in a hurry when I did this, so I didn’t follow the pattern exactly.  It looks mostly the same though, plus I added a smile. 🙂

The hat was well received & I got a few requests from the other attendees.

 

