Tags

, , , , , , ,

Okay, trying to get back in the swing of things, & what better way to kick it off than with a crochet giveaway? Crochet Concupiscense is giving away five copies of her new book “Crochet Saved My Life: The Mental & Physical Health Benefits of Crochet“.

Crochet Saved My Life

Giveaway: 5 Copies of Crochet Saved My Life Up For Grabs — Crochet Concupiscence

When I saw this post come across my Pinterest I knew I had to check it out.  For me, crochet has been a source of comfort when I needed it most.  I got into crochet when I was working a very stressful, draining job.  It was a great way to relax at the end of the day.  A few hours every evening I was able to focus on the turns & twists of the hook, making one smooth stitch after another, watching a scarf or hat or purse grow from a pile of string to something recognizable in my hands.

I was working as a Social Worker in an HIV/AIDS clinic, so everyday was an overwhelming mess of paperwork & red tape just trying to make sure my clients were able to get what they needed to stay healthy.  Having something, however small, completely within my control & that I could reliably make progress on each day was a welcome addition to my life.

I also struggle with chronic depressive episodes, & some days a crochet project is the only thing I can look forward to or work on.  It might be the only reason I get out of bed.  If you have any experience with clinical Depression then you know what a blessing it is to have something like that in your life.

Maybe this book will inspire some of you to give crochet, or some other creative pass time, a try if you haven’t already.  Keeping your mind & hands active is a great way to relax & recharge.  I would love to hear some of your stories as well.

CrochetSavedMyLife.com
Crochet Concupiscence

