Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

turnip green gnocchi

I ❤ gnocchi, & have been considering trying some out with leftover mashed potatoes.  I found a recipe online for gnocchi from leftover mashed potatoes.  Now would be a good time to mention I don’t cook much, if you don’t already know.

Leftover turnip greens & mashed potatoes

leftovers

We eat a lot of mashed potatoes, & it’s not unheard of for us to have turnip greens with them.  I thought combining them for gnocchi would be fun, like Southern fusion cooking.

(We like Glory Foods seasoned turnip greens a great deal.  They’re spicy, delicious, & easy.)

.

gnocchi dough

yep, that’s dough

I only had about 1&1/4c altogether, so I started with half the flour & the whole egg (I don’t really know how to use half an egg).

I kept adding flour till I ran out (oops) & then I used Italian style bread crumbs till I got this.  I don’t know exactly what a ball of dough looks like, but I figured a fork standing up in it was close enough.

boiling the gnocchi

There’s gnocchi in there somewhere

I’m lazy & can’t be bothered to flour & roll & cut, so I just rolled mine into little balls with  more bread crumbs for the outside, & dropped them into the boiling water.

.

.

.

gnocchi in the colander

not as useful as I had imagined

As I scooped them out I put them in my adorable little apple green colander over a bowl so they could drain.  There wasn’t much drainage & they stuck together a little as they cooled, so I would recommend laying them out in a single layer instead.

.

.

.

friend gnocchi on a plate

fried gnocchi

The texture was a bit wetter than I liked.  Probably using bread crumbs for a boiled dumpling wasn’t my smartest move.

I also had a recipe for fried gnocchi, so I decided to try that with some of them.  My pan wasn’t great, so my gnocchi stuck & didn’t get the crispy outside I had hoped for.  It did bump up the flavor though.

.

turnip green gnocchi

nomnomnom *burp*

In the end they were delicious!  I was really impressed that I cooked up something so tasty.  I served them with black eyed peas & meat flavored pasta sauce (you know it’s the cheap stuff when “meat” is a flavor).

They didn’t turn out like “little pillows”, but I loved them, especially fried.

.

The next time I make them, I will store the greens & potatoes separately, & then press as much moisture out of the greens as I can before adding them to the dough.  Might be nice to add the leftover juice to the water.  That should go a long way towards helping with the texture.  I would also have more flour on hand so I don’t have to resort to breadcrumbs.

Thanks for reading!  I would love to hear what you think, especially the more experienced cooks out there, & if you try this please let me know how it turns out!

I pinned the two recipes I found to my Food board & here are my pins (because being repinned makes me high – sure it sounds silly, but you know what I’m talkin’ bout).

Source: foodwhine.comvia Joy on Pinterest

  Source: 101cookbooks.com via Joy on Pinterest

