Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This is the first pattern I ever wrote.  It is for felted bag that was crocheted.  I have since learned felting something that has been knitted or crocheted first is actually called ‘fulling’, but everyone just uses felting for it, so to do otherwise makes me feel like a pretentious nerd.  Plus, when you say fulling no one knows what you’re talking about.

This bag was a Christmas present for my sister, so I named it after her.  The links for the photos to where this was originally posted five years ago are all broken now, so I’m going to try & get them back in the right order^_^

I think the camera I was using when I took these was a free gift with purchase, so you may need to over look some of the photo quality.  Not to mention the over zealousness of the details in my pattern.  I had recently discovered Craftster & all the wonderful tutorials people posted on there, & I was still rather new to crochet so writing this in a way that would be clear even for someone who had never heard of crochet was all the rage for me. It was all so new & exciting!!!  I wanted to be sure no one had a problem following my directions.

Gentle comments & critiques are welcome, & if anyone makes this I would love to see how it turns out.

Jill’s Felted Bag Jill's Felted Bag finished

This is a simple project that anyone with a knowledge of the basic stitches can crochet in a couple of hours(or so – i seem to be on the slow side myself:~/). I’m not including felting time. It is made in five parts: bag, flower, two leaves, & the wrist strap. You sew them together after felting.

Supplies
Hooks size H & I
Paton’s Classic Wool Merino:
Deep Olive, 1 skein
Winter White, 1 skein
Yarn needle
Small scissors
Sewing needle & thread to match yarns
Closure of your choice

Felting will require hot water, a large bowl/pot/dish pan, dish or laundry soap, & a towel. You can also use your washing machine if you’d like.

I also used tubular beads & card board for shaping the bag as it dried.

Abbreviations & Stitches Used
I used the standard abbreviations
Ch = chain
Sl St = slip stitch
SC = single crochet
DC = double crochet
HDC = half double crochet
TC = triple crochet
QC = quadruple crochet (I have also seen this called Double Treble Crochet, & have
also seen a stitch called Quadruple Crochet that was something different. For
this stitch I yarned over 3 times, hooked my stitch, yarned over again, & pulled
the loop through. I then yarned over, pulled through the first two loops, repeat
on remaining loops, pulling through two loops at a time for a total of three
repeats.)

Bag
Using Deep Olive yarn & I hook
Row 1: Using a single strand, ch 30
Row 2: DC in the 4th ch from hook, & in each chain across. You should have 27 DC.
Ch 4 & turn.
Row 3-16: Repeat for 15 rows.
Row 17: 27 DC, ch 1 & turn
Row 18: for rounded corners, the final row uses the following stitch pattern: SC,
HDC, DC x 23, HDC, SC, cut your tail & weave in

At this point my bag measured 11 ¼” long & 7 ½” wide

Jill's Felted Bag (in progress, length) OOAK

Pre-felted, bag before assembly

Jill's Felted Bag (in progress, corner detail) OOAK

Detail of corner

Now, fold up the bottom about 4”, leaving about 3” for the flap.
Sl St from the bottom corner, stitching sides together; around the flap, & back down to bottom corner, again stitching the sides together.
Cut tail & weave in.

Jill's Felted Bag (in progress, open flap) OOAK

Bag open, with Bongo inside:~)

Jill's Felted Bag (in progress, closed flap) OOAK

Closed bag

Leaves (make 2):
Using Deep Olive yarn & H hook
Ch 15, turn
Sc in 2nd ch from hook & in next ch
From there HDC, DC x 2, TC x 6, HDC, SC, Sl St
Turn to work across bottom of foundation chain, do not make any turning chains
Work the following pattern across: Sl St, HDC, TC x 6, DC x 2, HDC, Sl St
Cut tail & weave in your ends

Yes, you do end the 2nd side one stitch early.

Flower:
Using Winter White yarn & H hook
Ch 4, join with Sl St
Ch 1 in circle, then ch 5
DC in circle, ch 2, Repeat
Sl St to 4th ch off the circle, this makes 3 DC with 3 spaces to crochet in (you’ll
work the petals in the spaces)
In each of the spaces work the following pattern: DC, TC, QC x 3, TC, DC
Sl St between each petal over the DC between your work spaces
After the 3rd petal, turn the flower over & ch 4 on the back top of the DC between
petals, join to DC with a Sl St
Repeat on the other two DC. You can Sl St or ch between them, your choice.
Inside each loop, repeat your petal pattern: DC, TC, QC x 3, TC, DC.
Cut tail & weave in your ends

Jill's Felted Bag (in progress, flower) OOAK

Flower & leaves before felting (oops, forgot to make the wrist loop for this)

Wrist loop:
Using Deep Olive yarn & H hook
Ch 52
Sl St in 8th ch from hook
Ch 4, sl stitch to 4th ch on foundation chain, repeat till the end.
Cut your tail & use it to stitch the two ends together, weave in the extra ends.

This gives the strap a chain-like appearance.

Jill's Felted Bag (in progress, prefelted) OOAK

This is the completed bag before felting. Embroidery is not my strong point, but I figured felting is forgiving, so I used the Winter White yarn & the yarn needle to add her initial to the flap. You can’t see it, but I added a heart under the flap on the bag.

Felting
I started the felting process in my washing machine. I washed the parts in a lingerie bag with a load of sheets, using the hot cycle. I just washed it as I normally would my sheets with detergent (I use liquid in case that matters) & without interruption.

It was a good start, but I wasn’t satisfied with the final results, so I completed the process with a hand washing.

I have a single bowl sink, so I used a pot for the washing. I tossed the parts in water as hot as my hands could stand. Working each part individually, I added a little dish soap to it, & worked it in my hands, rubbing & rolling, occasionally running it under the hot tap or working it in the pot of water. When I was satisfied with the part, I rinsed it under cold water, pressing it till I felt all the soap was out. I then pressed it between my hands to get out as much water as I could. When all parts were done, I rolled them up in a clean, cry towel & pressed them some more.

Next, I pulled apart the ‘links’ of my wrist chain & stuffed them with tubular beads the right size so they would dry in shape. You could also use paper, straws, small children, or anything you have around the right size. For the body of the bag, I cut a piece of card board to size & stuffed it inside the bag.

I then laid them flat on the towel, folded it over them, laid a large book on top, & then added more weight on top of the book. I left the pieces to dry.

After a few hours I took them out of the towel, did a bit more hand shaping, then laid them out in front of a heater to dry. I’m inpatient that way:~) (plus I’m writing this pattern up while it dries & I want to hurry up & be finished – with purse & pattern)

Assembly
Using needle & thread, stitch the parts together, & viola! You have a bag. I used the snipped yarn ends, plus a little nonwool raspberry yarn from a project I did during the drying time, to make a felted bead. I sewed this on as the center of the flower. I love the way it turned out!

At this point you can also line the bag if you prefer, & add a closure of your choosing.

Jill's Felted Bag (completed) OOAK Voila! A beautiful, finished fulled wristlet bag:)

I hope you enjoyed my project & as mentioned earlier, if you make it I would love to see it!  Here is the post of a Craftster member who made one after I posted my pattern there.  It turned out great!  She used markers to hold the strap’s shape as it dried.  How clever!

And remember, sharing is caring, but please credit responsibly & link back to this post:)

